Monday, July 27, 2015

If you loved The Hunger Games, try these science fiction / dystopian trilogies!

Hello all you ultra-awesome readers! Princess Dagger here, guest posting on Cosmoe's blog. That goofy-haired kid is still sleeping, so I'm taking over today and telling you about some of my favorite dystopian trilogies that are perfect for kids ages 12 and up.

If you or someone you know totally loved reading The Hunger Games series, I've got some awesome book suggestions for you. I am a BIG FAN of science fiction and dystopian trilogies. Big, big fan. HUGE. So I feel way qualified to tell you about some other radical series that I'm super sure you'll love. Ready? Here we go!

5 science fiction / dystopian series for fans of The Hunger Games

The Matched trilogy by Ally Condie

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

My thoughts: I loooooooved this series. Cassia, the heroine, really grows and changes throughout the three books, and the whole theme of questioning what freedom and choice mean really spoke to me.

The Delirium trilogy by Lauren Oliver

In an alternate United States, love has been declared a dangerous disease, and the government forces everyone who reaches eighteen to have a procedure called the Cure. Living with her aunt, uncle, and cousins in Portland, Maine, Lena Haloway is very much looking forward to being cured and living a safe, predictable life. She watched love destroy her mother and isn't about to make the same mistakes.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena meets enigmatic Alex, a boy from the Wilds who lives under the government's radar. What will happen if they do the unthinkable and fall in love?

My thoughts: Okay, so I'm 14 and I admit that maybe this series is a little advanced for the average 12-year-old girl. But anyone who loves dystopian fiction and amazing writing will love this trilogy. The love story is wonderful and second and third books have lots of action.

The Selection trilogy by Kiera Cass

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My thoughts: Reality TV meets dystopian fairy tale. Swoon-worthy, delicious reading. It was a fun trilogy and I can't wait to read The Heir, which is the newly-released fourth book in the series.

The Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld

Tally is about to turn sixteen, and she can't wait. In just a few weeks she'll have the operation that will turn her from a repellant ugly into a stunning pretty. And as a pretty, she'll be catapulted into a high-tech paradise where her only job is to have fun.

But Tally's new friend Shay isn't sure she wants to become a pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world—and it isn't very pretty. The authorities offer Tally a choice: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. Tally's choice will change her world forever...

My thoughts: This is one of my favorite dystopian series. I really liked Tally, the main character, and the way her friendship with Shay changes over the three books is not what you'd expect. There's action, there's romance, there's all sorts of good stuff.

The Legend trilogy by Marie Lu

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

My thoughts: My favorite dystopian trilogy. EVER. It's narrated by June and Day, and sometimes having two narrators doesn't work but it totally does in this series. And there's not even a love triangle, there's more like a love square. It's awesome. PLUS ending a trilogy is always hard and so many end badly, but this author totally nails the ending. It's the best. THE BEST. I got a little teary when I was done reading and I had to tell Cosmoe I got some rock dust in my eyes because dude, I am not crying in front of that kid.

So that's 15 books that are super amazing and will keep you busy for a while. Get reading, people!

Princess Dagger

PS: If you like today's post, click the "way cool" box below!!

PPS: For more book recommendations, check out 5 great book series for girls ages 7-9 and 5 graphic and illustrated book series that kids love!